Nursery Inspection


What do you need today?


Nursery Inspection Program

For more information, email Nursery@agr.wa.gov or call (360) 902-1874.
WSDA Plant Services provides regulatory inspection of licensed retail [PDF 435 KB] and wholesale [PDF 99 KB] nurseries to ensure that consumers and the nursery industry are provided healthy, pest-free and disease-free plant materials. Inspectors enforce quarantines to prevent pest introduction at more than 5,000 licensed nurseries in Washington.

Washington's notification rule [PDF 91 KB] requires any nursery receiving tree and shrub nursery stock from outside the state to notify WSDA within 48 hours of receipt. WSDA has created a prohibited plant list [PDF 504 KB] to make sure plants that are known to be invasive and detrimental to the state's natural resources are not sold in our state.

WSDA Plant Services also enforces licensing requirements [PDF 610 KB] for nursery businesses and offers assistance to new nursery businesses in meeting regulatory requirements. To perform an interactive search of the Department of Revenue's business license database, visit Business Licensing Service or go to http://bls.dor.wa.gov/


Olympia Office

1111 Washington St.
PO Box 42560
Olympia, WA  98504-2560
Phone:  (360) 902-1874
Fax:  (360) 902-2094
Nursery@agr.wa.gov

Cindy Cooper, Plant Services Program Manager - (360) 902-2062
ccooper@agr.wa.gov
Cheryl Spink, Customer Service Specialist - (360) 902-1874
cspink@agr.wa.gov

Central and Southwest Washington

Scott Brooks, Plant Inspection Supervisor
sbrooks@agr.wa.gov

Northwest and Eastern Washington


VACANT Plant Inspection Supervisor

 


Inspection Field Offices

Bellingham

Chehalis

1000 N. Forest St., Ste. 202
Bellingham, WA  98225
Phone:  (360) 676-6739
Fax:  (360) 738-2458
koakley@agr.wa.gov
Kay Oakley, Environmental Specialist
351 NW North St.
Chehalis, WA  98532-1900
Phone:  (360) 740-2645
Fax:  (253) 220-2103
swelch@agr.wa.gov
Sue Welch, Environmental Specialist

Yakima

Skagit/Snohomish

21 North First Avenue, Ste. 103
Yakima, WA  98902
Phone:  (509) 201-6205
slagerstam@agr.wa.gov
Sherry Lagerstam, Environmental Specialist
PO Box 1911
Anacortes, WA  98221
Phone:  (360) 661-5842
Fax:  (360) 428-1061
lrouse@agr.wa.gov
Lisa Rouse, Environmental Specialist

Olympia

Pasco

PO Box 6098
Olympia, WA  98507
Phone:  (206) 510-6131
Fax:  (360) 902-2094
tgilbert@agr.wa.gov
Tobin Gilbert, Environmental Specialist
PO Box 244
Pasco, WA  99301
Phone: (509) 728-2032
Fax: (509) 545-2498
apaul@agr.wa.gov
Aaron Paul, Environmental Specialist

Tacoma

Renton

3049 S. 36th St., Suite 210
Tacoma, WA  98409
Phone:  (253) 471-4427
Fax:  (253) 220-2101
gallen@agr.wa.gov
Gabriel Allen, Environmental Specialist
PO Box 2735
Renton, WA  98059
Phone:  (360) 481-4039
rsimon@agr.wa.gov
Rene Simon, Environmental Specialist

Seattle

Spokane

PO Box 66426
Burien, WA  98166
Phone:  (206) 439-3722
Fax:  (206) 439-3724
cbaumgardner@agr.wa.gov
Cyndi Baumgardner, Environmental Specialist
222 N. Havana St. #101
Spokane, WA  99202
Phone:   (509) 477-4796
Fax:   (509) 477-4698
lstrauss@agr.wa.gov
Levi Strauss, Environmental Specialist

Resources