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STATE OF WASHINGTON
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
PLANT PROTECTION DIVISION
P.O. Box 42560  Olympia, Washington 98504-2560  Phone (360) 902-1908 Fax (360) 902-2094

Dear Christmas Tree Grower;
During the 2007 legislative session, at the request of the Christmas tree industry, the Washington State Legislature amended chapter 15.13 RCW to require the Washington State Department of Agriculture (WSDA) to establish a Christmas tree program. The Christmas tree program in RCW 15.13 includes the following:
1.  Establishment of a Christmas Tree Advisory Committee to advise the director of WSDA on the administration of the Christmas tree program, 
2. Requirement for Christmas tree growers to obtain a Christmas tree grower license, and 
3. Authorization for WSDA to establish in rule a fee for a Christmas tree grower license. 
After consulting with the Christmas Tree Advisory Committee, which consists solely of growers like you, WSDA adopted a license fee for Christmas tree growers.  Effective January 1, 2010, WAC 16-401 requires all Christmas tree growers, except those exempted below, to obtain a Christmas tree grower license. The Christmas tree grower license consists of a $40 annual license fee plus a $3 per acre assessment with a maximum of $5,000. The licensing period for a Christmas tree grower license is February 1 to January 31. 
Christmas tree growers whose business consists solely of retail sales are exempt from the licensing requirements if:
1. The grower has less than one acre of Christmas trees; or
2. The grower harvests less than 400 trees annually.
Except for the growers exempted above, all Christmas tree growers must submit the application for Christmas tree grower license and the Christmas tree grower license fee by February 1st of each year.
Enclose are copies of WAC 16-401, RCW 15.13 and the application for Christmas tree grower license. If you have any question about the Christmas tree program or the licensing requirements, please contact me.
Sincerely,
Tom Wessels
Thomas L. Wessels
Plant Services Program Manager
WSDA-Plant protection Program
(360) 902-1984
Fax (360) 902-2094
twessels@agr.wa.gov
	WAC 16-401-045
	

	Christmas tree grower license fees.


  (1) All Christmas tree growers, except those exempted in subsection (5) of this section, must obtain a Christmas tree grower license.

     (2) The licensing period for a Christmas tree grower license is February 1st to January 31st.

     (3) The annual fee for a Christmas tree grower license is forty dollars plus an acreage assessment of three dollars per acre. The annual Christmas tree grower license fee for any person may not exceed five thousand dollars.

     (4) Growers must submit an application for Christmas tree grower license and the annual fee to the department by February 1st.

     (5) Any Christmas tree grower owning Christmas trees, whose business consists solely of retail sales to the ultimate consumer, is exempt from the requirements of this section if:

     (a) The grower has less than one acre of Christmas trees; or

     (b) The grower harvests, by u-cut or otherwise, fewer than four hundred Christmas trees per year.

	RCW 15.13.311

Christmas tree grower exemptions — License — Fees. (Expires July 1, 2014.)
	


(1) Any Christmas tree grower owning Christmas trees, whose business consists solely of retail sales to the ultimate consumer, is exempt from the requirements of this section if:

     (a) The grower has less than one acre of Christmas trees; or

     (b) The grower harvests, by u-cut or otherwise, fewer than four hundred Christmas trees per year.

     (2) Licensed nursery dealers who furnish live plants for planting to Christmas tree growers are exempt from the requirements of this section.

     (3) No person may operate as a Christmas tree grower without first obtaining a license from the department.

     (a) The application must be accompanied by an annual fee, as established by the director in rule. The annual fee must not exceed forty dollars as a basic charge and a maximum of four dollars per acre as an acreage assessment. The annual Christmas tree grower license fee for any person may not exceed five thousand dollars.

     (b) The department may audit licensees during normal business hours to determine that appropriate fees have been paid.

	RCW 15.13.314
Christmas tree program — Advisory committee. (Expires July 1, 2014.)
	


(1) An advisory committee is established to advise the director in the administration of the Christmas tree program.

     (2) When appointing this committee, the director shall consider names submitted by Christmas tree growers and by established Christmas tree grower associations having members in the state.

     (3) The committee consists of no fewer than five members, representing the interests of licensed Christmas tree growers and the Christmas tree industry, and the director or the director's designee.

     (4) The terms of the members of the committee shall be staggered and the members shall serve a term of three years or until their successor has been appointed.

     (5) In the event a committee member resigns, is disqualified, or vacates a position on the committee for any other reason, the vacancy shall be filled by the director under the provisions of this section governing appointments.
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