
Private Applicators (PA), Rancher Private Applicators (RPA), and Limited Private Applicators (LPA) 

Proposed Rules Current Washington State Rules Impacts for PAs, RPAs and LPAs 

 Add a Soil Fumigation exam 
category for soil fumigants 

 Soil Fumigation exam category is 
available to meet the “training” 
requirement on the label, but not 
required for private applicators. 

 Soil Fumigant exam or training will be mandatory for 
any licensed private applicator performing soil 
fumigations. 

 Add Non-Soil Fumigation exam 
category for private applicators 

 None  Private applicators using any fumigant (e.g., 
aluminum phosphide, sulfur dioxide, methyl 
bromide) would need to take and pass non‐soil 
fumigation exam category. 

 Add Aerial exam category  None  Require aerial exam category along with pest 
management categories. 

 Consider a Chemigation category  WA has Chemigation Rules, but does not 
have a chemigation exam category. 

 Could require private applicators to pass a 
chemigation exam. 

 Minimum 18 years old for PA, 
RPA, LPA certification or under 
the direct supervision when 
using Restricted Use Pesticides 
(RUPs) 

 WA Department of Labor & Industries 
has 18-year age restriction for 
employees handling hazardous 
chemicals. 

 Low impact.  If use restricted use pesticide (RUP) 
must be 18 years old.  For use of non RUPs, no age 
limit. 

Washington State Comparison and Impacts for 
US EPA’s PROPOSED Certification of Pesticide Applicator Rule 

(40 CFR Part 171) 



Washington State Comparison and Impacts for 
US EPA’s PROPOSED Certification of Pesticide Applicator Rule 

(40 CFR Part 171) 
Private Applicators, Rancher Private Applicators (RPA), and Limited Private Applicators (LPA) 

Proposed Rules Current Washington State Rules Impacts for PAs, RPAs and LPAs 

 Mandatory 3-year certification 
cycle 

 WSDA rule is a 5‐year cycle. 
 RPA and LPA license is renewed on a 

5‐year cycle. 

 Expensive changes to WSDA database. 
 Eliminates ability to have a 5-year license for RPAs and 

LPAs. 
 Requires lengthy implementation timeline to convert 

5-year cycle to 3-years. 

 Obtain 
 6 core Continuing Education 

Units (CEU is 50 minutes 
training) 

 and 
 3 CEUs per EACH exam category 

during the 3-year recertification 
cycle 

 Private applicators require 20 credits in 
5-year cycle with no more than 10 
credits per year. 

 Private applicators can attend any 
training with any approved content for 
CEUs (recertification credits). 

 RPA and LPA require CEUs in weed-
specific topics and core CEUs are not 
approved for them 

– WSDA reviews/assigns these credits. 

 Very expensive changes to WSDA database and will 
require hiring several additional full-time employee 
(FTEs). 

 Obtain 6 CEUs in core (laws/safety) topics in 3 years, 
and 

 Obtain 3 CEUs per EACH exam category in 3 years. 
o Those with Aquatic or Soil Fumigation categories 

have to get 3 CEUs per category. 
 WSDA is required to assign recertification course 

topics as “Core” or “category specific” training.  
Applicators will need to monitor they are getting what 
they need.  Pest management topics will not be 
considered “Core.” 

 Obtain at least ½ of CEUs in last 
18 months of licensing cycle 

 WSDA has maximum credits of 10 per 
year. 

 Half-year tracking of credits is not practical. 

 Present ID for recertification 
training  sessions 

 WSDA allows self-verification by 
signature. 

 Very time consuming for course sponsors, WSDA and 
applicators. 



Washington State Comparison and Impacts for 
US EPA’s PROPOSED Certification of Pesticide Applicator Rule 

(40 CFR Part 171) 

Commercial Applicators/Operators (CA/O), Public Operators (PO), Private Commercial Applicators (PCA) 

Proposed Rules Current Washington State Rules Impacts for CA/O, PO, and PCA 

 Add a Soil Fumigation exam 
category 

 WSDA has a Soil Fumigation exam 
category. 

 Already have to take this exam. 

 Add Non‐Soil Fumigation exam 
categories 

 Private applicators using any fumigant 
(e.g., aluminum phosphide, sulfur dioxide, 
methyl bromide) would need to take and 
pass non‐soil fumigation exam category. 

 Already have to take these exams. 

 Add Aerial exam category  None  Require aerial exam category along with pest 
management categories. 

 Consider a chemigation category  WA has Chemigation Rules, but does not 
have a chemigation exam category. 

 Could require licensed CA/O, PO, and PCA to pass a 
chemigation exam. 



Washington State Comparison and Impacts for 
US EPA’s PROPOSED Certification of Pesticide Applicator Rule 

(40 CFR Part 171) 
Commercial Applicators/Operators (CA/O), Public Operators (PO), Private Commercial Applicators (PCA) 

Proposed Rules Current Washington State Rules Impacts for CA/O, PO, and PCA 

 Mandatory 3-year certification 
cycle 

 WSDA rule is a 5-year cycle.  Expensive changes to WSDA database. 
 Requires lengthy implementation timeline to convert 5-

year cycles to a 3-year cycle. 

 Obtain 
 6 core Continuing Education Units 

(CEU is a 50-minute training) 
 and 
 6 CEUs per EACH exam category 

during the 3-year recertification 
cycle 

 40 credits required and a maximum of 15 
credits per year; however, with no 
requirements for “core” (laws and safety) 
or “category” (exam categories). 

 WSDA does not review and assign credits 
as per Core or Category. 

 Very expensive changes to WSDA database and will require 
hiring several additional full-time employee (FTEs). 

 Obtain 6 CEUs in core topics in 3 years, and 
 Obtain 6 CEUs per EACH exam category in 3 years. 

o If someone had 3 exam categories they need 6 core + 
18 category CEUs for 24 credits per 3 years. 

o If someone had 5 exam categories they need 6 core + 
30 category CEUs for 36 credits per 3 years. 

 WSDA is required to assign recertification course topics as 
“Core” or “category specific” training.  Applicators will 
need to monitor they are getting what they need. 

 WSU will face significant demands to provide training in 
both core and category; additional FTEs will be needed. 

 Challenge to provide category credits in small‐sector exam 
categories, such as seed treatment and wood preservation. 

 Obtain at least ½ of CEUs in last 18 
months of licensing cycle 

 WSDA has maximum credits of 10 per 
year. 

 Half-year tracking of credits is not practical. 

 Present ID for recertification 
training  sessions 

 WSDA allows self-verification by 
signature. 

 Very time consuming for course sponsors, WSDA, and 
applicators. 



Washington State Comparison and Impacts for 
US EPA’s PROPOSED Certification of Pesticide Applicator Rule 

(40 CFR Part 171) 

Pesticide Dealers 

Proposed Rules Current Washington State Rules Impacts for Dealers 

 RUP dealers must record 
applicator’s certification number, 
issuing authority, certification 
expiration date, and categories of 
certification – these are in 
addition to other items. 

 Dealers must record certified 
applicator’s pesticide license number 
(WAC 16-228-1300) – these are in 
addition to other items. 

 Significant burden – already require record certified 
applicator’s pesticide license number and are 
responsible to know the sale is to a current license 
holder with the correct exam category endorsements. 

http://www.regulations.gov/#!documentDetail;D=EPA-HQ-OPP-2011-
0183-0001 
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