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LICENSING OF CHEMIGATION INJECTION EQUIPMENT 
 
Washington pesticide law requires commercial pesticide application businesses to license their 
chemigation injection equipment with the Washington State Department of Agriculture (WSDA).  
This publication summarizes (1) the equipment licensing requirements for chemigation injection 
equipment used in a commercial application and (2) the pesticide licensing requirements for the 
individual performing the application. 
 
When is the Licensing of a Chemigation Injection System Required? 
As defined in rule, an injection system includes all devices and components located between the 
application tank and the point of product discharge into the irrigation water.  A chemigation 
injection system used in conjunction with a commercial application must be licensed with the 
Department, regardless of who owns the injection unit.  If a Commercial Applicator uses a client’s 
injection system to apply a pesticide to that client’s property, the Commercial Applicator must 
license the system.  Injection units used for other than commercial applications do not need to be 
licensed.  Exempt from the commercial apparatus-licensing requirement are injection units that are 
a permanent, integrated component of the irrigation system or that meter product into a surface run 
irrigation system by means of gravity flow, such as a batch-metering tank or a float valve assembly. 
 
Nonexempt chemigation units used in a commercial application must be licensed with the 
Department.  Except for the first unit, a $20 license fee is required for each injection system. 
 
When is a Pesticide License Required? 
State law requires that the responsible applicator overseeing a chemigation application must be 
properly licensed with the Department.  A grower, as a licensed Private Applicator, may make an 
application to the land of another grower without a Commercial Applicator license as long as 
compensation is not received, except for the trading of services.  If compensated for the 
application, the grower must be licensed as a Commercial Applicator and must license the 
chemigation injection system.  Whether compensation is received or not, the grower who is 
performing the chemigation application is legally responsible for that application. 
 
What is Necessary to be Licensed as a Commercial Applicator? 
To become licensed as a Commercial Applicator, a person must complete a license application, 
pay a $170 fee (which includes the licensing of one injection apparatus), pass all necessary 
exams, and submit a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certification or a Surety Bond form 
completed by their insurance or bonding agent.  State law requires either a liability insurance policy 
or a surety bond that provides $50,000 public liability and $50,000 property damage coverage with 
no more than a $5,000 deductible. 
 
Who do I Contact at WSDA to Answer Questions or Request Additional Information? 
For information on the Chemigation and Fertigation Technical Assistance Program, contact: 

Tom Hoffmann thoffmann@agr.wa.gov 509-766-2574 
Byron Fitch bfitch@agr.wa.gov 509-766-2575  

For information on the Pesticide Licensing Program, including equipment licensing, contact: 
Pesticide Licensing license@agr.wa.gov toll-free: 877-301-4555 

Inquiries regarding availability of this publication in alternative formats should be directed to the 
WSDA Receptionist at (360) 902-1976 or Telecommunications Device for the Deaf (360) 902-1996. 
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