Washington State Department of Agriculture
Pesticide Management Division
PO Box 42560

WS DA Olympia WA 98504-2560

(877) 301-4555

ATTENTION: PESTICIDE DISTRIBUTORS

Businesses distributing (selling) pesticides other than those labeled for “Home and Garden Use Only”
(H&G) must have:

1. A Pesticide Dealer license endorsement on their Washington State Master Business License
(RCW 15.58.180); and,

2. Staff with a Pesticide Dealer Manager license at the business location at all times when non-
H&G pesticides are being offered for distribution at in-state dealerships [RCW 15.58.180(3) and
WAC 16-228-1590(2)]. Most businesses will need to have several employees with a Pesticide
Dealer Manager license to always have at least one person on duty during business hours.

Pesticide products are considered to be other than H&G if they are State Restricted Use Pesticides (as
defined in WAC 16-228-1231), have any right-of-way, industrial or agricultural uses or if the product’s
label contains any of the following words or phrases:

e Federal Restricted Use Pesticide (RUP)

e Category |, Danger-Poison

e For Commercial or Professional Use Only (or similar)
e An “Ag-Use Box”

Partial labels are shown on the next page as examples of each of the above.

Businesses can add a Pesticide Dealer endorsement to their Master Business License through the
Department of Revenue’s Business Licensing Service (BLS). Download the Master Business Application
at bls.dor.wa.gov/pesticidedealer.aspx or call BLS at 360-664-1400. The endorsement costs $67
annually. Individuals obtain the Pesticide Dealer Manager license by passing a WSDA Dealer Manager
exam and paying the $33 annual license fee. There is also a $25 testing fee. Once licensed, Dealer
Managers must meet WSDA continuing education requirements every five years or retest.

The first step in obtaining a Dealer Manager license is to order the WSU study manual, Washington
Pesticide Laws & Safety (EMO12), on the WSU website at pep.wsu.edu/studymaterials/ or by calling 1-
800-723-1763. Some WSU county extension offices keep a supply of manuals on hand.

When you are ready to test, contact WSDA at 1-877-301-4555 to set up a reservation. Testing is
scheduled on a regular basis at several locations in the state. For additional information on Pesticide
Licensing, go to agr.wa.gov/PestFert/LicensingEd/Licensing.aspx or call WSDA at 1-877-301-4555.

If your business becomes a licensed Pesticide Dealer, you also will need to keep pesticide sales records
(see agr.wa.gov/PestFert/Pesticides/ComplianceActivities.aspx#DealerReq).

If you have questions, email pesticide.compliance@agr.wa.gov or call 360-902-2040 or 1-877-301-4555.
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Example 1. State RUP

Note: The label does not indicate this aquatic
pesticide is a RUP. Dealers must be familiar
with the General Pesticide Rules detailing state
RUPs (see WAC 16-228-1231 through 1238).

Specimen Label
@NDWAngSciﬂlces

odeo

Herbicide
®Trademark of Dow AgroSciences LLC

For control of annual and perennial weeds and woody

plants in natural and production (plantations), forests for

site preparation, mid-rotation release treatments, timber
stand improvement activities, noncrop sites including
industrial sites, rights-of-way (including roadsides, electric
utility and communication transmission lines, pipelines,
railroads, airports), irrigation and drainage ditches, canals,
reservoirs, natural areas (including wildlife management
areas, wildlife openings, wildlife habitats and refuges, parks
and recreational areas, campgrounds, trailheads and trails),
rangeland, and in and around aquatic sites and wetlands; also
for perennial grass release, and grass growth suppression
and grazed areas on these sites.

Avoid contact of herbicide with foliage, green stems, exposed

non-woody roots or fruit of crops, desirable plants and trees,
because severe injury or destruction may result.

Example 3: Category 1 —
Danger/Poison

Note: “Danger/Poison” is clearly stated on the
label.

Keep Out of Reach of Children

DANGER % POISON
PELIGRO

Si usted no entiende la etiqueta, busque a alguien para que se la explique
a usted en detalle. (If you do not understand the label, find someone to
explain it to you in detail.)

Example 4. For Commercial
or Professional Use

Drione®

INnsecticide

Y FOR INDUSTRIAL/COMMERCIAL USE ONLY
* A DESICCANT DUST

Example 2: Federal RUP

Note: The label states “Restricted Use
Pesticide”

Specimen Label
RESTRICTED USE PESTICIDE

For retail sale to and use only by Certified Applicators or persons under
their direct supervision and only for those uses covered by the Certified
Applicator's certification.

Lorsbhan Advanced

INSECTICIDE

Example 5: Ag Use Box

Note: There will be an “Agriculture Use
Requirements” box on the label.

Directions for Use
Restricted Use Pesticide

It is a violation of Federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent
with its labeling.
Read all Directions for Use carefully before applying.

Do not apply this product in a way that will contact workers or other
persons, either directly or through drift. Only handlers may be in the
application block from the start of the application until the entry restricted
period ends, and in the buffer zone during the buffer zone period. For
ary requirements specific to your state or tribe, consult the agency
responsible for pesticide regulation.

Agricultural Use Requirements
Use this product only in accordance with its labeling and with the
Worker Protection Standard, 40 CFR Part 170. This Standard contains
requirements for the protection of agricultural workers on farms, forests,
nurseries, and greenhouses, and handlers of agricultural pesticides. It
contains requirements for training, decontamination, notification, and
emergency assistance. The reguirements in this box only apply to uses
of this product that are covered by the Worker Protection Standard
(WPS). Mo instructions elsewhere on the labeling relieve users from
complying with the requirements of WPS. For the entry restricted
period and notification requirements, see the Entry Restricted Period
and Notification section of this label.
PPE for Ertry During the Restricted Period: PPE for entry that
is permitted by this labeling is listed in the Personal Protective
Equipment (PPE) section of this labeling.
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DEALER / DEALER MANAGER CHECKLIST

This checklist is provided to help your business comply with WSDA pesticide distribution (sales) regulations.
Complete each item that applies to you.

[0 Washington State Master Business License (MBL) is current
Find information at dor.wa.gov/file.aspx or on WSDA’s fact sheet at agr.wa.gov/FP/Pubs/docs/163-
MLSFactSheet.pdf.

[0 Agriculture Addendum for Pesticide Dealer license is

completed ted . deral
The addendum is listed on the MBL. Find information Restricted Use Pestici es (RUPs) - Fe eral RUPs
. A are designated on the product label, while state
at bls.dor.wa.gov/pesticidedealer.aspx. The application RUPS are listed in WSDA’s General Pesticide
requires in-state Pesticide Dealers to list an employee Rules at WAC 16-228-1231. These include
who holds a current Dealer Manager license with WSDA. phenoxy hormone herbicides sold in greater

than one-gallon containers in Eastern

. Washington, strychnine, aquatic pesticides and
L1 All Dealer Manager licenses are current several herbicide active ingredients for the

Licenses expire annually on Dec. 31. Renewals are protection of groundwater.
mailed in mid-November. To be sure your renewal is
rocessed by Jan. 1, mail immediately or renew online
P y ! . y . General Use Pesticides (GUPs) — All non-RUPs,
at fortress.wa.gov/agr/apps/PMLicRenewal using an including those that are Home and|Garden| Use

electronic check. Only (H&G). H&G pesticides have uses on their
labels such as home, residential, pet/small
animal and/or limited scale animal quarters. The
pesticide is NOT H&G if it is a RUP, a Category 1

[0 Dealer Manager is on site whenever certain pesticides are

distributed o ) (Danger-Poison) or a GUP with right-of-way,
A Dealer Manager must be on site if Restricted Use and industrial or agricultural uses (contains the “Ag-
General Use Pesticides (see box for details), except Use Box”), or has wording such as, “For
those intended for and labeled as Home and Garden Commercial or Professional Use Only.”

Use Only (H&G). Distribution includes offer for sale
(display), hold for sale, sell, barter or supply pesticides.

[0 Pesticides for sale are registered with WSDA
Make sure your product vendor’s pesticides are current with WSDA registration requirements. You can
check the registration status of a product by going to WSU’s PICOL website:
cru66.cahe.wsu.edu/labels/Labels.php.
Buy your pesticide products from known, reputable dealers. Beware of telephone and Internet sales.

[0 Pesticide containers are in good condition
Pesticides must be sold in their original containers with proper and complete labels attached. The
containers must be in good condition with no leaks or exterior residues. Bagged products cannot be
ripped and leaking.

[0 Eastern Washington dealers must provide county orders for phenoxy hormone herbicide if requested
Phenoxy hormone herbicides (2,4-D, 2,4-DB, 2,4-DP, MCPA, MCPB, MCPP and dicamba) in containers
larger than one gallon are considered RUPs in Eastern Washington. Counties have various restrictions
regarding how, when and where these can be applied. Copies of these county orders must be provided
to a purchaser, if requested.
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[0 Verify pesticide license prior to selling RUPs
Before selling a RUP, check the applicator’s license status at agr.wa.gov/PestFert/LicensingEd/Search/
or by calling WSDA at 877-301-4555. Private Applicators (PAs) may purchase any RUP Pesticides.
Rancher PAs can buy only Restricted Use Herbicides and Rodenticides. Limited PAs can only buy
Restricted Use Herbicides. Commercial, Public, Private-Commercial or Demo/Research licensees must
hold the appropriate category for the pesticide they are purchasing. Be sure to check license
endorsements.

[0 Verify identity of purchasers before selling RUPs
You may identify annually at the same time you verify a regular customer’s pesticide license status for
the year or for each individual purchase, if the applicator is unknown. Telephone or electronic purchases
must be verified by fax (photo ID) or at time of delivery.

[0 Maintain distribution (sales) records for seven years
= Records on the sale of all non-H&G pesticides must be kept for seven years from the date of
distribution. Records must be furnished to WSDA upon request. These records must include:
e full name/address of purchaser;
e brand name and EPA registration number (Reg. No.);
e number of pounds or gallons distributed; and,
date of distribution.
For RUPs, you must also record:
e full name/address/WSDA license no. of certified applicator;
e full name of authorized agent if picking up product for the certified applicator; and,
e crop or site to which the pesticide will be applied.

= Unlicensed customers may purchase one gallon or less per distribution of a phenoxy hormone in
Eastern Washington. Eastern Washington dealers must follow the GUP recordkeeping
requirements for these sales.

= |n Washington State, spray adjuvants are defined as pesticides. All dealers in Washington State
must follow the GUP recordkeeping requirements for all non-H&G spray adjuvants. There is no
EPA Reg.No.to record. You may record the WSDA Reg. No. for spray adjuvants without an EPA
Reg. No.

[0 When selling pesticides with dual RUP/GUP labeling
= Pesticide labels with both aquatic (RUP) and non-aquatic (GUP) uses can be purchased by
unlicensed customers for non-aquatic use. The dealer must follow the GUP recordkeeping
requirements and note on the sales invoice that the “customer agrees that the pesticide will not
be applied into or onto water.”

= Clopyralid is a state RUP if labeled for use on cereal grains, grass used for hay, lawns and turf,
including golf courses. Clopyralid pesticides with other labeled uses may be sold to an
unlicensed person. The dealer must follow the GUP recordkeeping requirements and have the
purchaser sign the sales invoice with the statement, “Will not be applied to cereal grains, grass
used for hay, lawns and turf including golf courses.”

O Pesticide storage/display/checkout areas
Pesticides are not to be stored and/or displayed over or adjacent to food, feed or drugs. Highly toxic
(Danger/Poison) pesticides may not be sold through the same checkstand as human consumable food.
Pesticides shall only be stored and displayed within an enclosed area of a building or fence. Fences must
be six feet high. Do not display pesticides on sidewalks (e.g. Weed and Feed).
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[0 Post storage areas
Display areas within a store need not be posted. Pesticide storage areas must be kept clean and secure.
Pesticides with the signal word “Danger/Poison” must be stored in a locked and posted enclosure when
unattended. The type of storage facility determines placement of warning signs. The storage unit itself
must have a sign on each exterior wall and at each exit and entrance. If the storage unit is contained
within a larger, multipurpose structure the inside storage unit must have warning signs as indicated
above and the larger multipurpose structure must have a sign at the main entrance of the building and
on the outside of each exterior wall that is within 30 feet of the pesticide storage unit. A multipurpose
structure which stores pesticides in an unconfined area must be posted by each entrance and on the
outside of all exterior walls. If there is a sign visible from the entrance of a multipurpose structure which
clearly identifies the possibility that pesticides may be stored on the premises (i.e. ABC Pest Control)
then the main entrance is not required to be posted with the pesticide warning sign.

[0 Transporting pesticides
Do not transport highly toxic pesticides in the same compartment as clothes, food or feed. Pesticides
shall be secure during transit. When unattended side racks and tailgates on trucks must be secured and
at least six feet above ground, ramp or platform level.

[0 Delivering pesticides
When delivering pesticides to a customer’s location, the applicator or authorized agent must be present
to sign the delivery slip or the pesticide must be placed into secure storage.

[0 Properly rinse and recycle plastic pesticide containers
Call Agri-Plas, Inc. at 503-390-2381, www.agriplasinc.com, or WSDA at 877-301-4555 for dates and

locations.

[0 Properly dispose of unusable pesticide products
Contact WSDA at 877-301-4555 or go to agr.wa.gov/PestFert/Pesticides/WastePesticide.aspx for free
disposal information.

Additional resources:
Many aspects of pesticide law are described in the Washington Pesticide Laws and Other Related Regulations
Hand-out Booklet at agr.wa.gov/FP/Pubs/docs/079-PesticideLawsAndRulesHandbook.pdf.

The major WSDA laws and rules are posted at: agr.wa.gov/PestFert/Pesticides/LawsRules.aspx.

The Pesticide Management Division website is at agr.wa.gov/PestFert/.

Pesticide Compliance information is provided at: agr.wa.gov/PestFert/Pesticides/ComplianceActivities.aspx.
Pesticide license information is provided at: agr.wa.gov/PestFert/LicensingEd/.

To reach WSDA program specific staff, call toll free 877-301-4555.

Marijuana — Pesticide and fertilizer use: agr.wa.gov/pestfert/pesticides/pesticideuseonmarijuana.aspx
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