A WSDA>

Regulations for Specific Products

Selling and Processing Poultry

Growing consumer demand for locally grown, humanely-raised, organic and/or pastured meat
creates new opportunities for small-scale chicken, turkey and other poultry producers. Careful
planning and a good understanding of the regulations surrounding the processing, handling, and
marketing of poultry meat is essential. With the proper license or permit, a producer can sell his or
her poultry meat to retail outlets such as restaurants, grocery stores, and farmers markets,
wholesale, or straight from the farm. This fact sheet is designed to help poultry producers
understand Washington State regulations and provide resources for a successful poultry enterprise’.
This fact sheet includes:

e QOverview of poultry processing permits and licenses;

e WSDA Special Poultry Permit;

e \WSDA Food Processor License;

e WSDA poultry processing facility and water requirements;

e Poultry processing equipment lending programs;

e Mobile poultry processing units;

e USDA inspected poultry processing plants in Washington;

e Ratites and Squab;

e Selling and labeling certified organic poultry;

e Health department requirements for selling poultry; and

e Helpful resources on poultry processing.

Going through the process of getting the proper permit or license to process poultry may feel like a
daunting task. For producers who persevere, the following benefits may make the investment of
their time, talent and treasure worthwhile.

Opening up new marketing alternatives

With the proper permit or license, your poultry may be legally sold to customers from your
farm, to restaurants, to grocery stores, at farmers markets, via the Internet and other direct and
wholesale marketing channels.

Capturing more value for your poultry meat
By selling through direct markets, producers can capture the full retail value of their poultry,

> This fact sheet was first developed in 2009 as part of the “Realizing the Potential of Pastured Poultry in our Local Food
System” project by Kirsten Workman of the WSU Mason County Extension and Mason Conservation District; Fred Berman
and Patrice Barrentine of the Washington State Department of Agriculture Small Farm and Direct Marketing Program; Nate
Lewis of WSDA Organic Food Program and Homegrown Pastures, Melissa Barker of The Evergreen State College Organic
Farm and Homegrown Pastures, and Colleen Donovan of Heifer International. We gratefully acknowledge everyone who
reviewed and improved this fact sheet including Claudia Coles, Al Kowitz, Norman Suverly, Carey Hunter and Andy Bary.

Please note: Information in this fact sheet is our best understanding of the current state laws and regulations at the time
of publication. If there is a conflict between what is written and what is contained in law, the applicable law prevails. Laws
and regulations also are subject to change. Please refer to the contacts listed for the most up-to-date information.
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increasing profits. For example, as of November 2013, direct marketed whole chickens are
typically selling for $3.50 to $6.50 per pound.

Building customer trust and loyalty
By acquiring the appropriate licenses, you can demonstrate to your customers that you are
following all state regulations and food safety practices that promote a safe, quality product.

Reducing business risk

In order for your product liability insurance to be valid, your carrier will require you to be
properly licensed. Being licensed also enables you to advertise without worrying about
regulatory repercussions.

Influencing agricultural policies in Washington State

Being licensed creates an opportunity for direct feedback to state agencies, so that they can
improve rules to better serve farmers and consumers alike. The more producers that are
licensed, the greater their voice becomes in the policy arena. In addition, as a producer you have
a responsibility to your fellow producers to maintain a legal and safe infrastructure to protect
both the public and your rights to continue processing.

Overview of Poultry Processing Permits and Licenses

Poultry processing in the United States, including chicken, geese, duck, turkey and other
domesticated birds raised for meat, is regulated by the Federal Poultry Products Inspection Act. This
Act requires producers to process poultry in a USDA inspected facility. However, under the Act state
exemptions are allowed. In Washington State, there are currently two ways that small-scale poultry
producers may be exempted. One is by getting a WSDA Special Poultry Permit and the other is by
becoming a licensed WSDA Food Processor.

TABLE 2. POULTRY PROCESSING OPTIONS

WSDA Special WSDA Food USDA FSIS
Poultry Permit Processor License Inspected Facility
1. Maxi f bi
aximum number of birds Up to 1,000 Up to 20,000 Unlimited
processed per year that is allowed
2. Whether poultry must be s_old Whole or Whole or
whole or may be processed (i.e., Whole only
. processed processed
into cuts, frozen, etc.)
3. Marketing channels allowed On-farm sales Direct, retail or Direct, retail or
only wholesale wholesale
4. Whether sales outside of No No Ves

Washington State are allowed

Which Permit or License do | need?

The following four questions can help you figure out if you need a WSDA Specialty Poultry Permit or
Food Processor License:

1. How many birds will you process in a calendar year?

2. Do you want to sell whole birds only?

3. Do you want to sell to retail markets such as restaurants, grocery stores, at farmers markets or
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wholesale?
4. Do you want to sell outside of Washington State?

Please note that the Special Poultry Permit is for poultry only. To process other products, you need a
WSDA Food Processing License which allows you to process poultry. But if you formally amend your
license, and are approved by WSDA, you may also process rabbits, emu, rhea, ostrich, buffalo and
beefalo for in-state sales.

WSDA Special Poultry Permit

Farms selling less than 1,000 processed poultry of any species in a calendar year may operate with a
WSDA Special Poultry Permit,3 as long as they meet all three key conditions.

1. The poultry must be sold directly to the end consumer. Selling processed poultry at farmers
markets, direct to restaurants or grocery stores, or via the mail or other delivery service is
not allowed.

2. Customers must pick up the birds within 48 hours of slaughter from the property of the
Washington farm where the poultry was raised and processed.

3. The farm business must sell only whole birds. This permit does not allow further processing
(i.e., parting out, vacuum sealing, or freezing).

The WSDA'’s online “Handbook for Special Poultry Permit to Slaughter, Prepare and Sell Whole Raw
Poultry” is a useful resource that includes over 20 Frequently Asked Questions covering everything
from record keeping to composting offal:

How to Get the WSDA Special Poultry Permit
Contact WSDA'’s Food Safety Program and discuss your plans with an inspector. Food safety
inspectors can help ensure that the processing set up and practices meet state standards. You must
then submit an application to the WSDA Food Safety Program. Applying early will give inspectors
time to work with you. To avoid a backlog, we recommend applying at least 12 weeks before your
first slaughter date and obtaining the permit at least 6 weeks before your first slaughter date.
Applications and additional information is available online at

or you can email or
call (360) 902-1876.

For many, the most challenging aspect of the application is the “Slaughter/Preparation Site
Diagram” and “Detailed Processing Steps or Flow Diagram.” To avoid potential confusion on your
food safety application, be sure to include as much detail in these diagrams as possible. The major
steps involved (e.g., kill, scald, pluck, eviscerate, rinse, and chill) must be included in the flow charts,
and any additional details will help to ensure a smooth licensing process.

Once the Food Safety Program has received your Special Poultry Permit application, a trained WSDA
food safety inspector will come to the farm prior to first slaughter to verify that the setup, slaughter
and processing will be done in compliance with state food safety requirements. Inspections include
an evaluation of personnel, grounds, butcher setup construction and design, sanitary operations,

*The Special Poultry Permit was formerly known as the “Temporary Permit to Slaughter Pastured Chickens.” The Special
Poultry Permit came into effect in July 2009. This permit now includes all poultry (not just pastured chickens).
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pest control, sanitary facilities and controls, equipment and utensils, processes and controls,
labeling and licensing. Preventing overhead contamination, having food grade surfaces, and chilling
tend to be the key areas of concern.

We recommend scheduling your food safety inspection on a day when you can do a dry run and you
do not need all equipment to be present, for example, if you’re renting a plucker or scalder. Not
having customers on farm the same day of your inspection gives you time to address any issues.
Once approved, your permit will be mailed to you.

The inspector returns on the first slaughter date during processing to confirm all food safety
requirements are met.

Please note that: the permit application asks for your projected slaughter dates. Changes are
allowed, however, you must provide prior written communication of any changes, including date
additions and deletions, to the Food Safety Program at least one week before the change.

The fee for the Special Poultry Permit is $75 for one calendar year (January 1 to December 31) or
$125 for two years.

WSDA Food Processor License

There are three main reasons a farm would need a WSDA Food Processor License instead of a
Special Poultry Permit to process poultry. If the farm’s plans meet any one of these criteria, then
a WSDA Food Processor License is required.
1. The farm is planning to process between 1,001 and 19,999 birds a year.
2. The farm wants to sell directly off-farm at a farmers market or farm stand, or sell
through a third party to retail markets.
3. The farm wants to sell poultry that is not a whole bird or has been processed further in
any way (i.e., frozen, cut into pieces, used in a value-added product such as sausage,
etc.).

The WSDA Food Processor License allows farms to process up to 19,999 poultry of any combination
of species per calendar year. If you choose, you are allowed to process less than 1,000 with the Food
Processor License (or the Special Poultry Permit is required).

One key benefit of the Food Processor License is it allows farms to sell processed poultry directly at
farmers markets, on the Internet, to hotels, restaurants, food service institutions, grocery stores, or
through wholesale food distribution in Washington State.

The Food Processor License allows poultry to be further processed, for example breaking down the
whole bird into individual cuts (or “parted out”) or freezing. The license also allows vacuum sealing if

the product will be frozen.

The WSDA Food Processor License does not allow out of state sales. It does, however, allow for
processing rabbits with a WSDA approved amendment.
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How to Get the WSDA Food Processor License

Like the Specialty Poultry Permit, producers should start by contacting the WSDA Food Safety
Program to discuss your plans. You must submit an application to the WSDA Food Safety Program. It
is available online at or by calling (360) 902-1876 or
emailing . The Food Processor License application includes a sanitation
schedule, intended type of process (#12 is poultry butchering), ingredient/processing information, a
floor plan of where you will be processing poultry, proposed labeling, questions about your water
supply and testing. Allow plenty of time for getting your water system approved for your facility, as
this can take weeks or months.

The WSDA Food Safety Program is available for one-on-one technical assistance with the licensing
process, including creating a processing facility design and advising on construction materials,
equipment, cooling procedures, water source, and food safety techniques to prevent cross-
contamination of poultry products.

The WSDA Food Processor License annual fee is based on your projected sales volume. It starts at
$55 per year for gross sales up to $50,000.

TABLE 3. WSDA FOOD PROCESSOR LICENSE FEE SCHEDULE

If gross annual sales* from . .
. o The license fee is:

products processed in facility are:

$0 to $50,000 $ 55
$50,001 to $500,000 110
$500,001 to $1,000,000 220
$1,000,001 to $5,000,000 385
$5,000,001 to $10,000,000 550
Greater than $10,000,000 825

* In year 1 of an operation, gross annual sales are the processor’s projected sales.
Thereafter, fees are based on the processor’s prior year’s sales.

Once the Food Safety Program reviews your application, a local food safety inspector will contact
you within 4 to 6 weeks to inspect your processing site, ensure it meets all state requirements and
answer any questions.

WSDA Poultry Processing Facility and Water Requirements

The Special Poultry Permit and Food Processor License have the same sanitation and cooling and
refrigeration requirements, however, the requirements for the processing facilities, lighting,
bathrooms and water (from private wells) are different.

TABLE 4. FACILITY, LIGHTING, BATHROOM AND WATER REQUIREMENTS FOR THE SPECIAL POULTRY PERMIT

WSDA Special Poultry Permit

Facilities No permanent building is required.

Protection from overhead, side and ground contamination is required. When insects, dust,
mud, pests, or other contamination is likely to occur, a temporary set up including tarps,
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canopies, floor mats, etc., may be used. A grassy, clean and pesticide-free pasture could
qualify. If there is no potential for overhead/ground contamination, the entire slaughter,
processing, and bagging operation could occur outside.

At least one hand washing station must be accessible on site. Standard temporary hand
washing stations are acceptable.

Lighting Lighting only needs to be provided if processing is done at night or in low light conditions.

Bathroom At least one toilet must be available and conveniently located at the poultry slaughter site.
A bathroom in a home or a portable chemical toilet may qualify.

Water Public or municipal water supplies must meet requirements for potable water.

If you are on a private well, then your local or county health department or Washington
State Department of Health (DOH) must approve the water source. Water source approval
means the conveyance used to deliver the water must meet the State DOH requirements
for potable water.

Potable water may be hauled into the processing site as long as the water is safe and
sanitary. The transport vessel that is used must be capable of maintaining the sanitary
quality of the water.

In addition to being potable, water must pass bacterial test within the 60 day window prior
to applying for the permit.

Please see Attachment C “Water Supply Requirements” of the Special Poultry Permit
application for detailed information.

TABLE 5. FACILITY, LIGHTING, BATHROOM AND WATER REQUIREMENTS FOR THE FOOD PROCESSOR LICENSE

WSDA Food Processor License

Facilities

Licensed Food Processors must have a separate facility dedicated to the commercial
processing operation only. Your home kitchen cannot serve as this facility; however, your
separate processing facility may be located in your home in a room separate from your
domestic kitchen, (i.e. a converted bedroom, or basement).

Slaughtering and plucking may occur outdoors in a covered area. All other steps in the
processing must occur indoors. Specific requirements include:

e Equipment, worktables and counters must be in good repair and have surfaces that are
easily cleaned and non-corrosive.

e  Floors must be made of material that can be cleaned and must be in good repair.
Typically vinyl linoleum or tile floor coverings are sufficient for small operations where
vacuuming and wet mopping provide sufficient clean up. Unfinished wood floors are
NOT suitable in any areas.

e Walls must be covered with a washable, non-porous, non-corrosive, smooth material
that will not deteriorate when it gets wet.

Sinks may be 3-compartment or 2-compartment; please check with your inspector. Food
handlers must have access to one or more hand washing facilities with hot and cold running
water, soap, single service towels, and hand wash signs.

Lighting

Adequate lighting must be provided. Shatter-protection must be used above equipment or
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areas where food is exposed.

Bathroom An adequate home bathroom is sufficient if only family members work in the processing
facility. When a processor hires anyone outside of the immediate family to process poultry,
then a separate bathroom is required.

Water Public or municipal water supplies meet requirements for potable water.

If you are on a private well, you will need to meet Washington State Department of Health’s
requirements for a Group A or B water system. The system required will depend on the
number of employees and the number of days you operate.

Please see Attachment E “Water Supply Testing Requirements” of the Food Processor
License application for detailed information.

Sanitary practices for both Specialty Poultry Permit and Food Processor License

Hand washing is critical to food safety, regardless of your permit or license. Wash hands thoroughly
before starting and between each preparation step as well as after every break. At least one hand
washing station must be accessible on site.

Cooling and refrigeration requirements for both Special Poultry Permit and Food
Processor License

When poultry is processed, a temperature control must be used to monitor slaughter cool down
temperatures to ensure proper chilling. A calibrated thermometer inserted into the first bird
slaughtered, and then monitored thereafter will work. You must record this cooling time. Processed
poultry must be cooled to 40° F within four hours of slaughter (unless they are sold within four
hours).

Producers will need to demonstrate the availability and efficiency of their equipment -- coolers,
boxes, refrigerators, etc. -- for storage and transport prior to permit or license approval. In addition,
the Food Processor Licensees’ freezers will be checked.

Co-packing under the WSDA Food Processor License

The Poultry Products Inspection Act’s (PPIA) “exemption to the exemption” can be requested by a WSDA licensed facility
to process birds from multiple producers (also known as co-packing). It states: “The facility used to slaughter or process
the poultry is not used to slaughter or process another person’s poultry unless the Administrator of FSIS grants an
exemption [PPIA Section 464(c)(3); Title 9 CFR 381.10(b)(2)].”

The term “exempt” means that certain types of poultry slaughter and processing facilities may qualify to operate without
daily federal inspection or a grant of federal inspection. Such facilities are exempt from continuous bird-by-bird inspection
and the presence of inspectors during the slaughter of poultry and processing of poultry products.

However, a facility operating under such an exemption must still comply with all other requirements of the PPIA and all
facilities slaughtering or processing poultry for human use, including exempt operations, must produce products that are
unadulterated or misbranded.

All poultry processed under any exemption of the PPIA and offered for sale must have a label with the producer’s name,
producer's address, and the statement, “Exempt P.L. 90-492.” If the poultry is processed by another facility operating
under this exemption, the label must state that the bird was processed by that facility and distributed by the producer of
the bird.

To request an exemption to the PPIA, contact the regional USDA Food Safety & Inspection Service District Office in
Denver at (303) 236-9800 or
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Poultry Processing Equipment Lending Programs

In recent years, several new programs have emerged in Washington to lend poultry processing
equipment to producers for a small fee. Most of these programs provide a large, thermostatically-
controlled scalder, a drum picker or plucker and kill cones. In most cases, the producer is required to
provide propane, water, electricity, and all other required equipment. Contact information for
current Poultry Processing Equipment Lending Programs can be found below.

Island, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish,
and Whatcom counties
Northwest Agriculture Business Center

419 South 1st St., Ste. 200
Mt. Vernon, WA 98273-2924
(360) 336-3727 or (888) 707-2021

Contact: Sera Hartman

Kitsap County
Kitsap Poultry Growers Cooperative

Silverdale, WA

Mason County and surrounding
counties

Mason Conservation District (in partnership with
WSU Mason County Extension)

450 W. Business Park Rd.
Shelton, WA 98584
(360) 427-9436
or
Contacts: Ron Cummings or Erik Hagan

Mobile Poultry Processing Units

Pierce County and surrounding counties
Pierce Conservation District

5430 66" Ave East

Puyallup, WA 98371

(253) 845-9770 x104 or x 112
Contact: Mike or Chris

Thurston County and surrounding counties
Thurston Conservation District

2918 Ferguson St. SW, Building 1, Ste. A
Tumwater, WA 98512
(360) 754-3588

Contact: Reception

Whatcom County
Whatcom Pastured Poultry Group

5050 Graveline Rd.
Bellingham, WA 98226
(360) 384-4821

Contact: Terry Maczuga

Mobile Poultry Processing Units (MPPUs) are allowed to operate in the state of Washington. They
enable small producers to process poultry through a facility shared with other producers. The
mobile unit must meet regulatory requirements for a WSDA licensed Food Processing facility. It
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must be fully enclosed, however, killing and plucking can occur, under cover, outside of the unit.
Each producer using the MPPU must be a licensed WSDA Food Processor which means they can
process up to 19,999 birds, each, per year.

Eastern Washington
The first Mobile Processing Poultry Unit built in Washington was a joint project of the Community
Agricultural Development Center (CADC) and Washington State University Stevens Country
Extension. It currently serves Stevens, Ferry, Pend Oreille and Spokane counties. For more
information, please contact Al Kowitz with CADC at (509) 499-1360 or

. Additional information, including a slide show and floor plans, is
also available at

In 2013, Slow Food Okanogan partnered with Pine Stumps Farms to obtain and renovate a Mobile
Poultry Processing Unit. More information is available at or

or by calling Carey Hunter and Albert Roberts at (509) 826-
9492.

Western Washington
The Kitsap Poultry Growers Cooperative has their new Mobile Processing Poultry Unit available in
summer of 2014. Please check their website at for updates or email

The Northwest Agriculture Business Center’s Mobile Processing Poultry Unit started operating in
summer 2014 to serve Whatcom, Skagit, Snohomish and Island counties. Please contact Fred
Berman for more details: (360) 336-3727 or

The national Niche Meat Processor Assistance Network (NMPAN) is an excellent resource for
learning more about MPPUs:

USDA Inspected Poultry Processing Facilities in Washington

USDA inspection is required for businesses that slaughter and process 20,000 or more birds per year
and/or sell their birds outside of Washington State. Please contact the USDA Food Safety and
Inspection Service for more information.

USDA Food Safety & Inspection Service District Office (for Washington)
Denver Federal Center, PO Box 25387, Building 45, Denver, CO 80225
(303) 236-9800 or

The FSIS has a listing of USDA inspected plants online that is updated monthly. You can search for
“poultry inspection directory” from the FSIS home page. You should find a “Meat, Poultry and Egg
Product Inspection Directory.” However, finding plants that serve independent producers is
extremely challenging.
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Ratites and Squab

Large birds such as ostrich, emu, and rhea (collectively known as “ratites”) and squab (pigeon) can
be processed in USDA inspected facilities or facilities that are licensed by WSDA as a Food Processor.
Processors licensed by WSDA as a Food Processor may slaughter 19,999 or less large birds or squab
per year. These processors must apply to the USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service for
exemption from inspection. In addition to standard product labeling requirements, each bird or
package for sale must be marked or tagged, “Exempted under PL 90-492” and include the name and
address of the processor. For more information on exemption requirements, please contact USDA
FSIS, (303) 236-9800 or

Selling and Labeling Certified Organic Poultry

If any operation is planning to make organic claims (i.e., on a label, display sighage, farm name, etc.)
and it grosses over $5,000 annually on these products, it must become certified by an accredited
certifying agency. In the Northwest most producers either certify with the WSDA Organic Food
Program or Oregon Tilth. In addition, Oregon’s Department of Agriculture is now accredited to do
organic certification.

For poultry producers who process their own birds and want to sell chicken labeled “Organic
Chicken” (or turkey or duck, etc.), they need to become both a certified organic producer and a
certified organic processor. For poultry producers who have an organic certification and process
their birds at a certified organic licensed slaughter facility, then they are also allowed to label their
product “Organic Chicken” (or turkey or duck, etc.).

Another option is to label the poultry “organically raised.” In this situation, the grower must be a
certified organic producer, but he or she does not need to be a certified organic processor. They
cannot make organic claims on the processing of their products, but they can make claims to reflect
the organic production methods employed when raising the animals.

Organic Label Organic Certifications Required

“organic chicken” Must be raised by a certified organic producer AND processed by a
certified organic processor

“organically raised” Must be raised by a certified organic producer

Please contact the WSDA Organic Food Program to discuss your plans before you start advertising or
labeling anything as “organic.” They can be reached at (360) 902-1805, or via

Health Department Requirements for Selling Poultry

All producers who are direct marketing poultry will need to find out what permits are required by
the local health jurisdiction where they will be selling poultry. So, if you are selling in Seattle, you
will need to check with Seattle-King County Public Health; in Tacoma, it is Tacoma-Pierce County
Public Health. In most other areas, the local jurisdiction will be the county health department. In
Spokane, it is the Spokane Regional Health District. In all, there are 37 local health jurisdictions in
Washington:
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While all local health jurisdictions adopt the same “Washington State Retail Food Code,” how the
permitting structure, fees and inspections are set up vary. In addition, the local health jurisdiction
may add requirements beyond the Retail Food Code. Typically, the food permits are in the
environmental health division of the health department.

Farmers Markets

In general, the Retail Food Code considers farmers markets to be a “Temporary Food
Establishment.” The local health jurisdiction permits and inspects all retail operations including
farmers markets. In turn, farmers markets require that poultry vendors have the WSDA Food
Processor License and all local permits needed in that county.

Producers should check with the farmers market manager and health department early on to find

out what is required. Questions to ask your local health jurisdiction include:

O What permit(s) are required for producers to sell poultry at farmers market. In Seattle-King
County, a “Limited Farmers Market Temporary Permit” is required to sell poultry.

O Are fresh poultry sales allowed? Or does all poultry need to be frozen?

O What temperature needs to be maintained?

O Can producers use coolers or is mechanical refrigeration required? If refrigeration or a freezer is
needed, be sure to ask the market manager about the electricity and voltage available at the
market site.

O Is a separate permit required for each market site or each day?

O How much does the permit cost? Prices range from $25.00 to $500 per season.

O When are permits due?

Helpful Resources on Poultry Processing

e American Pastured Poultry Producers Association:

e Featherman Video Demos:

e National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service:

o Niche Meat Processors Assistance Network:

e On-Farm Poultry Slaughter Guidelines (Cornell University):

e Resource Guide to Direct Marketing Livestock and Poultry (Cornell University):

e Sustainable Poultry Network:
e Sustainable Poultry:
e Washington State University Organic Farming Systems & Nutrient Management - Pastured
Poultry:
Photos and designs for movable poultry cages (chicken tractors)
e WSU Small Farms:
e WSDA Farm Wisdom Video Series:
Poultry Processing Rental Equipment
WSDA Licensed Poultry Processing Facilities
e WSDA Food Safety Program:
e WSDA Organic Food Program:
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Recommended Fact Sheets

4. Licensing

19. WSDA Food Processor License and Facilities

23. Selling Beef, Pork, Sheep, Goat, and Other Meat
26. Selling Eggs

36. Selling Rabbit Meat

For further information, to provide comments, or suggest a resource to add to this fact sheet, please email
smallfarms@agr.wa.qov or call (360) 902-2888.
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