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In 2011 the Washington State legislature passed a Cottage Food Law that makes it possible for 
farmers and food businesses to sell products made in an inspected home kitchen instead of in a 
commercial kitchen. In 2016, changes were made to the Cottage Food Operation Rules that included 
expanding the type of products allowed, increasing the sales limit, and allowing for rolling permit 
expirations among other changes that are reflected in this updated fact sheet.  
 
Products sold with the “Cottage Food Permit” must be considered “low risk” and can only be sold 
directly to the end consumer at places such as farmers markets, farm stands and seasonal events 
(e.g., harvest festivals) or through CSAs. This fact sheet covers the key terms, regulations, and how 
to get a Cottage Food Permit: 

• Key definitions; 
• Cottage Food Operation permit sales limits; 
• Products allowed with the Cottage Food Operation Permit; 
• Permit application requirements, timing and fees;  
• Labeling requirements for Cottage Food Products; and 
• Additional information and resources.  

 

Key Definitions 
Cottage Food Operations 
The term “cottage food operation” or CFO comes out of the national cottage food movement that is 
seeking to provide low cost, home-based opportunities for food businesses. In Washington State 
law, a cottage food operation is defined as “a person who produces cottage food products only in 
the home kitchen of that person's primary domestic residence in Washington and only for sale 
directly to the consumer.” 
 
Cottage Food Products 
In Washington, "cottage food products" are “non-potentially hazardous baked goods, jams, jellies, 
preserves, and fruit butters as well as other identified non-potentially hazardous products.” In 
general, non-potentially hazardous foods do not need to be refrigerated to prevent bacterial growth 
that can make people sick. See “Products allowed to be produced and sold with the Cottage Food 
Operation Permit” in this fact sheet for a list of specific cottage food products. 
 
Home Kitchen 
As defined by the Cottage Food law, a “home kitchen” is a “kitchen primarily intended for use by the 
residents of a home. It may contain one or more stoves or ovens, which may be a double oven, 
designed for residential use.”  
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Domestic Residence 
For Cottage Foods, a “domestic residence” is a “single-family dwelling or an area within a rental unit 
where a single person or family actually resides. A domestic residence does not include: (a) A group 
or communal residential setting within any type of structure; or (b) An outbuilding, shed, barn, or 
other similar structure.” 
 
Potentially Hazardous Foods 
In this context, potentially hazardous foods are those “requiring temperature control for safety 
because they are capable of supporting the rapid growth of pathogenic or toxigenic microorganisms, 
or the growth and toxin production of Clostridium botulinum.” 
 
The source of the preceding definitions is available online: 
http://agr.wa.gov/foodanimal/docs/wac16_149.pdf 
 

Cottage Food Operation Permit Sales Limits 
Sales limit of $25,000 
Cottage food operations may sell up to $25,000 of their cottage food products each year with the 
Cottage Food Operations Permit.  
 
Only Sales to the End Consumer are Allowed 
All cottage food products sold with the Cottage Food Operations Permit must be sold directly to the 
end consumer by the permitted Cottage Food Operator. Cottage food products cannot be sold to 
restaurants, grocery stores, coffee shops, bakeries, or wholesale to any other business.  
 
Additional Limitations 
Your cottage food products cannot be sold outside of Washington.  
 
Internet sales must be picked up or delivered in person within Washington State. Cottage food 
products may not be shipped. For example, a cottage food operator can sell their cottage food 
products online and accept payment online, but pick-up must occur at either the cottage food 
operator’s home OR the cottage food operator may deliver to the end consumer.  
 

Products Allowed with the Cottage Food Operations Permit 
Only the cottage food products approved and listed on your Cottage Food Operations Permit are 
allowed to be sold. Make sure the product(s) you want to make and sell are allowed before you 
submit your permit application and non-refundable fee of $230. 
 
Allowed Cottage Food Products 
Any non-potentially hazardous products (as determined by WSDA) that are baked, fried, or cooked 
on a stovetop or other electronic device designed for cooking food are allowed, such as: 
• Fresh or dried meat or meat products including jerky; 
• Loaf breads, rolls, biscuits, quick breads, muffins; 
• Cereals, trail mixes, or granola; 
• Cakes; 

http://agr.wa.gov/foodanimal/docs/wac16_149.pdf
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• Pastries; 
• Pies (except custard style, pies with fresh unbaked fruit, and pies requiring refrigeration after 

baking); 
• Cookies or bars; 
• Stove top candies such as fudge, peanut brittle, caramels, taffy, marshmallows, etc.; 
• Molded chocolates and products dipped or coated in chocolate; 
• Fried donuts; 
• Tortillas; 
• Potato chips, kale chips, etc; 
• Nuts or nut mixes; 
• Crackers; 
• Snack mixes; 
• Some frostings; 

 
• Standardized jams, jellies, preserves, and fruit butters are allowed. However, the Cottage Food 

Operation Permit specifies that they must be made with low risk recipes, with sugar and only 
certain types of fruit. Please see “Requirements for Specific Standardized Fruit Butters, Jellies, 
Preserves, and Related Products” by going to the following link and typing in “150” in the 
“Title21 Part. Section” search box: 
http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfCFR/CFRSearch.cfm 
 

• Recombining and packaging of dry herbs, seasonings, and mixtures (e.g., dry soup, teas, coffees, 
spices, seasonings) is allowed. 
 

• Vinegar and flavored vinegars are allowed. 
 
Products not allowed under the Cottage Food Permit: 
• Fresh or dried meat or meat products including jerky; 
• Fresh or dried poultry or poultry products; 
• Canned fruits, vegetables, vegetable butters, salsas, etc.; 
• Fish or shellfish products; 
• Canned pickled products such as corn relish, pickles, sauerkraut; 
• Raw seed sprouts; 
• Baked goods which require any type of refrigeration such as cream, custard or meringue pies 

and cakes or pastries with cream or cream cheese fillings, fresh fruit fillings or garnishes, glazes 
or frostings with low sugar content, cream, or uncooked eggs; 

• Milk and dairy products including hard, soft and cottage cheeses and yogurt; 
• Cut fresh fruits or vegetables; 
• Food products made from cut fresh fruits or vegetables; 
• Food products made with cooked vegetable products; 
• Garlic in oil mixtures; 
• Juices made from fresh fruits or vegetables; 
• Ice or ice products; 
• Barbeque sauces, ketchups, or mustards; and 
• Focaccia-style breads with vegetables or cheeses. 
 

http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfCFR/CFRSearch.cfm
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Permit Application Requirements, Timing and Fees 
There are three specific requirements that must be met before you can get your Cottage Food 
Operation Permit. Copies or documentation of these tests or licenses is required to be submitted 
with your application. 
 
1. Water Testing  
If you are on City, Community or other Municipal Water Systems you do not need to have your 
water tested, but you do need to submit a copy of a recent water bill at the cottage food address. 
 
If you are on a private water supply you will need to have the supply tested at least 60 days prior to 
permitting and at least annually thereafter. You must submit a copy of the test and written report 
that demonstrate the water supply is potable.  Check with your local county planning or health 
department for more information. 
 
2. Food Worker Card 
Any person who will be working in your Cottage Food Operation must apply and receive their Food 
Worker Card (also known through as a Food Handlers Permit). This is available through your local 
county health jurisdiction or online at www.foodworkercard.wa.gov. For more information, please 
see the Washington State Department of Health “Food Worker Card” FAQ site: 
www.doh.wa.gov/CommunityandEnvironment/Food/FoodWorkerandIndustry/FoodWorkerCard.asp
x. You must provide signed copies of a Food Worker Card for each person named on your 
application.  
 
3. Master Business License 
In order to apply for the Cottage Food Operation Permit, you must have a Master Business License 
to do business in Washington. The name of the person(s) applying for the Cottage Food Operations 
Permit must be on the Master Business License. Your business license is also used to identify your 
business name and the address of your cottage food location for the permit and for your product 
labels. To apply for a Master Business License, go to: http://bls.dor.wa.gov.  
 
Additional Application Requirements 
In addition to the preceding requirements, the Cottage Food Operation Permit application asks for 
technical details, including a floor plan, production process, equipment and utensil list, cleaning and 
sanitation plan, processing dates and sales plan, child and pet management plan. 
 
Documenting the production process is typically the most time-consuming step for both the 
applicant and the Cottage Food permit review team. This step includes submitting each of your 
recipes in a specific format, documenting the prescribed processing and packaging steps, as well as 
submitting an example of each product label per the specific labeling requirements. Each recipe and 
label is thoroughly reviewed for compliance. For additional information, please see “Things to keep 
in mind when completing your application” at http://agr.wa.gov/CottageFood. 
 
Master Recipes 
It is possible to submit a single Master Recipe with variations if the base of the recipe (for example 
batter or dough) does not change but different add-in ingredients (like nuts, fruit, or chocolate 
chips) can be noted on the recipe.  A separate label for each variation must be submitted. 
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Applications are limited to 50 master recipes.  Add-in variations do not add to the recipe count. 
 
Timing 
The Cottage Food Operation Permit is good for one calendar year.  It will expire one year after it was 
issued on the last day of the month it was issued.  
 
How long it takes to review and approve your application depends on how many recipes were 
submitted, how thoroughly the application has been completed, and how timely the applicant 
responds to notices and questions from WSDA. The application can be approved as quickly as two 
weeks, but could take up to six months. 
 
Additional recipes and labels can be submitted throughout the year for a cost of $15 ($30 
application and $75 public health review).  New products or product changes can be submitted each 
year with your renewal for no additional fee. 
 
Fees 
The annual application fee totals $230 and includes $75 for a public health review of the application, 
$125 for a WSDA on-site inspection of your kitchen, and a $30 processing fee for the application. 
The application fee is non-refundable and no refunds will be made after receipt of the Cottage Food 
Operation Application. 
 
Permit Process 
After your application has been approved by the public health review, WSDA will contact you to 
setup an on-site inspection of your kitchen and all identified areas of your submitted floor plan. The 
inspection typically occurs within 1 to 4 weeks after your application has been approved. When you 
pass the inspection, your Cottage Food Operation Permit will be emailed to you within 1 to 3 days. 
Once you have the permit in hand, you may begin producing your approved products for sale. 
 

Labeling Requirements for Cottage Food Products 
Products that are produced and sold with the Cottage Food Operation Permit must include the 
following information on their labels: 

• Name of Cottage Food Operation. 
• Physical address of Cottage Food Operation. 
• Product name. 
• Ingredient list, including a break down to the smallest sub-ingredients. 
• Identification of any allergens (e.g., wheat, eggs, peanuts, soybeans, tree nuts, fish, and 

crustacean shellfish). 
• Weight or volume in U.S. measures. 
• The statement: “Made in a home kitchen that has not been subject to standard inspection 

criteria.” 
 

The application packet includes additional label details information and sample labels (Appendix 5): 
http://agr.wa.gov/foodanimal/cottagefoodoperation/docs/WSDA_CFRevised_Application_FinalWeb
.pdf  

http://agr.wa.gov/foodanimal/cottagefoodoperation/docs/WSDA_CFRevised_Application_FinalWeb.pdf
http://agr.wa.gov/foodanimal/cottagefoodoperation/docs/WSDA_CFRevised_Application_FinalWeb.pdf
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Additional Information and Resources 
For complete requirements, technical assistance, or to apply for the Cottage Food Operation Permit, 
please contact the WSDA Food Safety Program at (360) 902-1925, cottagefoods@agr.wa.gov, or visit 
http://agr.wa.gov/CottageFood. The website includes a list of Frequently Asked Questions for 
applicants. 
 
WSDA also has a “Cottage Foods Video” showing allowable foods, labeling requirements, permitted 
cottage food operators’ kitchens, tips from cottage food operators, and the permitting and 
inspection process. It can be viewed at http://www.youtube.com/user/WSDAgov.  
 

 

Recommended Fact Sheets 
9. Direct Marketing in Washington State 
18. WSDA Food Processor License and Facilities 
36. Selling Ready-to-Eat Foods 
 
For further information, to provide comments, or suggest a resource to add to this fact sheet, please email 
smallfarms@agr.wa.gov or call (206) 256-6157. 
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