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Requirement for most livestock owners in eastern 
Washington to record a brand is eliminated.

To combat the increasing 
frequency of cattle rustling, 

laws passed requiring 
Certificates of Permit, record 

keeping, and licensing 
of livestock dealers and 

slaughterers and authorizing 
the first state brand 

inspection services at public 
stockyards. 

The 24th brand 
renewal is completed 
by WSDA. More than 
5,300 brands recorded 

and published in 
Washington State 

Brand Book WSDA 
Centennial Edition, 
which is available 

for the first time in 
electronic format on 

CD-ROM.

Various efforts made from now thru the 1930s 
to publish lists of brands and brand holders. 

(Photo: The Calgary Herald’s North West Brand 
Book, 5th edition, April 1900)

County auditors given duty 
to record marks or brands 

used on horses, cattle, 
sheep and hogs.  Only 

recorded brands or marks 
considered lawful.  No two 
residents allowed to use the 

same mark or brand.

All livestock owners in most 
eastern Washington counties 
now required to record a 
mark or brand and to brand 
or mark their livestock.  
Auditors entitled to charge 
$.50 for a recording.

Washington 
Territory is 
organized 
with Isaac 
Stevens 
as its first 
governor.

The Washington 
State Department of 
Agriculture (WSDA) 
is created with J.H. 
Perkins as its first 
Director.

Brand Registration in Washington State

Duty to record livestock brands shifts 
from county auditors to WSDA.  Long time 
employee Dora Criddle takes on recording 
duties that continue until she retires in 
the 1950s.  As of Sept. 1, it is unlawful to 
brand any livestock in Washington with a 
brand not recorded with the Department 
of Agriculture.  The recording fee is $3 for 
a five-year period.  Director required to 
publish the Washington State Brand Book.  

WSDA celebrates 100 years 
of serving Washington 

agriculture and the public.

Recording period 
shortened from five 
years to two years. 

Brand recording 
and renewal fees set 

at $25.

Requirement to brand all  livestock 
in parts of eastern Washington 

removed from law.

There 
are 1,888 
brands 
listed in 
the first 
book of 
brands 
printed by 
WSDA in 
1936.  

WSDA registers its 25,000th cattle brand.  
Of the 25,000 brands registered over the 
first 33 years of the program, 15,209 are 

still actively used.

Brand recording period 
extended to four years, 
fees increased to $120.  
Renewal notice sent for 

7,434 brands.




